2018 Winner: Greg Redenius

Greg Redenius

The Marlene F. Richman Award recognizes University of Chicago staff members who demonstrate the highest levels of dedication, care, and compassion in the service of students. The winner of this award exemplifies the qualities demonstrated by Marlene F. Richman during her decades of untiring effort to guide students in the articulation and achievement of their dreams, to be a true friend and leader to colleagues, and to promote students' happiness and well-being.

The 2018 winner is Greg Redenius, associate director for facilities and operations at the Logan Center for the Arts. In his role, Greg works to schedule Logan Center space, assist with event coordination and production, manage Logan Center facilities, and manage the Performance Hall.

Student nominators wrote that Greg thoughtfully and patiently helps with each professional, academic, or personal request that comes to him, and promptly offers creative solutions and compromises if a request cannot be fulfilled. He quickly responds to students’ questions—even after hours and on weekends—and doesn’t complain, even when last-minute or time-consuming requests are asked of him.

The nominators wrote, “Considering that Greg oversees the needs of countless classes, programs, and events in the Logan Center, it’s easy to imagine that a single student’s request would be low on his list of priorities. But this is never, ever the case. Greg is always quick to respond, and always takes our needs seriously.” They added that he “makes us, the students, and our projects feel as important as any University official, faculty member, or visiting artist that passes through the Logan Center.”

2018 Nominees

  • Carol Baum, College Admissions
  • Kathryn Burns-Howard, The College
  • Americia Huckabee, Divinity School
  • Dan Nicolae, Department of Statistics
  • Timothy Murphy, Graham School
  • Steven Rings, Division of the Humanities
  • Milvia Rodriguez, Harris School of Public Policy
  • Kalee Schelkopf, UChicagoGRAD
  • William Weaver, Department of Philosophy